About Us

The Australian Republic Movement believes everyone who leads Australia and Australians should state allegiance to our people and to our place. 

Australia is unique - our land and our society are distinctive in the world.  Our nation's great achievement is the creation of a democratic, multicultural, egalitarian society where everyone is equal no matter their family, faith or national background.

We should never take this for granted and we should always try to improve it. This is why we should replace our current foreign monarchy with an Australian as Australia's head of state.

Our head of state should be a patriotic, democratic person who embodies service to our country and its people. 

Our head of state should be an Australian chosen by Australians, not a foreign monarch who inherits the job.

It is fundamentally unfair, undemocratic and undignified for Australia's democracy to be subject to a foreign monarchy.

The Australian Republic Movement is building an inclusive, member-controlled, volunteer-led campaign calling for a national vote by 2020 so Australia can decide our future and so Australians can have a head of state of our own.

We have made great progress and we have great hope - but campaigns matter and change is never inevitable - that is why it is so important that you join now.

Our paid up and passionate members elect our leaders and control our campaign. This is our movement - and we want it to be yours.

Our movement

ARM Executive

Peter FitzSimons


Peter FitzSimons is a journalist with the Sydney Morning Herald and Sun-Herald, and a busy events and motivational speaker. He is the aut... Continue reading
Michael Cooney

National Director and CEO

Michael was appointed National Director and CEO of the Australian Republic Movement in May 2017, after serving as the Executive Director ... Continue reading
Michelle Wood

Senior Deputy Chair

Michelle Wood has spent over 15 years working in public affairs, marketing and communications both in Australia and overseas. As the Aust... Continue reading
Tully Fletcher


Tully Fletcher is a senior adviser to the Attorney-General in the Victorian State Government. He was previously an Associate to a Judge o... Continue reading
Piers Grove

Junior Deputy Chair

Piers is an entrepreneur, activist and producer.  Piers is the co-founder and Executive Director of EnergyLab and sits on the investment ... Continue reading

ARM National Committee

Stephen Dametto

NSW Branch Convenor

Stephen has been a long-time member of the ARM and has been the NSW Convener since November 2009 having previously served on the NSW comm... Continue reading
Jessica Lindell

Victorian Branch Convenor and General Member

Jessica is a strategic communications and government professional with diverse international experience in government and the private sec... Continue reading
Andrew Fraser

Queensland Branch Convenor

Andrew Fraser is a former journalist who was Queensland bureau chief of a national newspaper and a member of the Federal Parliamentary Pr... Continue reading
Megan Allan

WA Branch Convenor

Aaron Hill

South Australian Branch Convenor

Aaron Hill has been a republican since Year 2, when he took up the fight for an Australian head of state in a class debate, going on to j... Continue reading
Angela Wilson

Tasmanian Branch Convenor

A passionate Australian Republican from a very young age, Angela began campaigning for a republic at high school by giving a speech to a ... Continue reading
Brendan Forde

ACT Branch Convenor

Brendan Forde is the ACT Convenor of the Australian Republican Movement and a member of the National Committee. He is an Organiser with t... Continue reading
Dominic Gomez

NT Branch Convenor

Dom is a born and bred Territorian, and a passionate supporter of NT Statehood and an Australian Republic. In his spare time he enjoys fi... Continue reading
Matt Martyn-Jones

General Member

A long-time supporter of the ARM, Matt has 20 years’ experience in media, government and the corporate sector. 
Jason Yat-Sen Li

General Member

Jason been a passionate republican since the establishment of the ARM. He was a delegate to the Constitutional Convention and was a membe... Continue reading
Alice Crawford

General Member

Alice joins the National Committee having served as Deputy Convenor of the Victorian Chapter of the ARM in 2016. Alice is an enthusiastic... Continue reading
Allison Henry

General Member and National Womens' Network Convenor

Allison Henry is a lifelong republican and has been an active member of the ARM for nearly two decades. She was involved in Sydney’s Inne... Continue reading
Will Fowles

General Member

Will Fowles first got involved in the ARM in 1997, and was elected National Youth Convenor in 2001. No longer youthful, he returned to th... Continue reading
Georgia Tree

Acting Youth Convenor

Georgia hails from Western Australia, studies a Master of International Relations and National Security, and works for a Federal Member o... Continue reading

ARM National Office

Sandy Biar

Campaign Director and Deputy National Director

Sandy took on the National Campaign Director role with the ARM from September 2016. Sandy has more than a decade of political campaign ex... Continue reading
Zoe Bowman

Executive Officer

Zoe is a campaign and communications specialist with 20 years’ experience across the non-profit, public and educational sectors. She is a... Continue reading
David McGregor

National Organiser

David McGregor is the National Organiser at the Australian Republic Movement. He was previously the National Digital & Campaigns Offi... Continue reading

Our Foundation

The Australian Republic Movement was established in 1991 with the following declaration:

We, as Australians, united in one indissoluble Commonwealth, affirm our allegiance to the nation and people of Australia.

We assert that the freedom and unity of Australia must derive its strength from the will of its people.

We believe that the harmonious development of the Australian community demands that the allegiance of Australians must be fixed wholly within and upon Australia and Australian institutions.

We therefore propose, as a great national goal for Australia - AUSTRALIA SHALL BECOME AN INDEPENDENT REPUBLIC.

We the undersigned Foundation Members now pledge our best endeavours to this goal:

  • Tom Keneally AO
  • Geoffrey Dutton AO
  • Prof Donald Horne AO
  • Jenny Kee
  • Dr Franco Belgiorno-Nettis CBE AM
  • The Hon Franca Arena MLC
  • Faith Bandler AM
  • Mark Day
  • Geraldine Doogue
  • Colin Lanceley AO
  • Harry Seidler AC OBE
  • Malcolm Turnbull
  • David Williamson AO
  • The Hon Neville Wran AC QC 

Corporate information

Legal Entity

Australian Republican Movement (Company Limited by Guarantee)

ACN: 094419619

ABN: 29094419619 

Privacy Policy

You can read our privacy policy at republic.org.au/privacy or contact our Privacy Officer at privacy@republic.org.au

Security Policy

When purchasing from the Australian Republic Movement your financial details are passed through a secure server using the latest TLS 1.2 (Transport Layer Security) encryption technology. TLS 1.2 encryption is approximated to take at least one trillion years to break, and is the industry standard. If you have any questions regarding our security policy, please contact our National Office Administration info@republic.org.au

Refund Policy

The Australian Republic Movement will refund payments made through this website where there has been a genuine error (eg payment amount) or an unintentional payment (eg duplicate payment). Refund requests should be sent to info@republic.org.au

Website Transactions

All transactions made through this website are processed in Australian Dollars (AUD).